Little Theatre of Owatonna Awards Second Sarah Foreman Post-Secondary Scholarship

Little Theatre of Owatonna is proud to announce that Medford resident, Jacob Hellevik,University of Denver student and 2015 Owatonna High School graduate, is the 2016 Sarah Foreman Post-Secondary Memorial Scholarship recipient.

This scholarship has been established as a memorial to long-time Little Theatre of Owatonna member Sarah Foreman who died in February 2006. Foreman’s work as a director extended through 30 years, directing 18 shows and serving 11 years on the LTO Board during three separate terms. This extensive contribution and dedication to theatre is memorialized in this scholarship.

Hellevik’s resume includes roles in ten productions in four different area venues as well as a lengthy list of award-winning musical performances both as a soloist and as part of a group. One of the recommendations notes, “Jacob leads by example. Kids see his dedication, his discipline, and openness. They want to emulate him…Jacob never misses a rehearsal, works on his part at home/alone, and helps others and the ensemble.” About community theatre, Hellevik wrote,“The community invests emotionally into the show and the outcome is something far more valuable than money can buy.” These successes and sentiments would be among those most appreciated by Foreman.

This scholarship recognizes and supports the post-secondary education of a current Steele County resident or a previous graduate of a Steele County high school whose studies and/or participation in theatre distinguish him/her. Hellevik is studying Music Performance on the Tuba at the University of Denver and plans to graduate in 2019. Currently he is cast in the summer production of Grease at Little Theatre of Owatonna.

Hellevik will be recognized and receive his $1000 scholarship on the opening Thursday night of the LTO summer production, Grease, 7:30 PM, Thursday, July 7.

Little Theatre of Owatonna is committed to providing dramatic arts opportunities and incentives for citizens of Steele County